Skip To Main Content

Fixed Header

Landing Nav


The ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English. State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It consists of two separate ELP assessments: one for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's level of ELP.

Student Participation

ELPAC regulations require LEAs to administer the Initial ELPAC to all eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve, whose primary language is a language other than English, to determine whether they are ELs, within 30 calendar days after they are first enrolled in a California public school or 60 calendar days prior to instruction, but not before July 1. LEAs also are required to administer the Summative ELPAC annually to students identified as ELs until they are RFEP.

Content and Format

The ELPAC assesses public school students in K–12 in the following four domains in English:

  • Listening
  • Speaking
  • Reading
  • Writing

It is aligned with the English language development standards adopted by the State Board of Education (SBE). 

*Information provided by the California Department of Education